2017 ICON Award – Thrasher Magazine

2017 Inductees

In 1978 a group of guys forged power, precision and speed to launch Independent Trucks, marshaling the energy and drive of Skate and Destroy.


January 1981, with Kevin Thatcher at the helm, his classic skater blasting concrete on that first cover, heralded the arrival of Thrasher, aptly coined by Master of Disaster, Duane Peters. The driving mantra has thrived and survived over 35 years and shows no sign of slowing down.

“Skateboarder of the Year”, aka SOTY, celebrated annually in raging style, remains the iconic prize. Other events like Skate Rock and Bust or Bail make their mark all over the country. Thrasher has always spoken to the skater and for the skater, and there’s no end in sight.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *